Confession: I Never Loved Twitter until I Flipped It

I have been using Twitter forever. It is the absolute best for keeping up with my PLN (Personal Learning Network), but I never liked the way it looked or felt. That is until I ran across Flipboard a few years ago. Flipboard turns my Twitter feed into a beautiful online magazine that I find SO engaging!

Here’s the front page of my Flipboard:

flipboard

Here is my Twitter feed:

twitter feed

And here is how my Twitter feed looks Flipped. To each their own, but I far prefer the look and feel of Twitter on Flipboard.

twitter flipped

In his recent post to Edutopia, Troy Hicks advocates using RSS to encourage students to “read critically, carefully and closely”. Not sure what RSS is? Watch this three minute video from Common Craft. Flipboard just happens to be a great way to read RSS feeds in a familiar magazine like format.

 

 

Leave a Reply

