Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

This is my favorite book of 2016. Fans of John Green and Jandy Nelson NEED to read this! It begins with the death of Vic’s dad and ends with the murder of Mad’s uncle. In between is a beautiful story that made my heart melt. I’m a sucker for created families, especially when they are made up of such interesting and lovable characters! These kids really rise above their circumstances and shine! Below is the annotated cover and some of my favorite quotes from the book.

koa

memories simutaneous-extreme-opposites baz-understand chapters

Front Lines by Michael Grant

Front Lines is a gritty work of alternate history, imagining World War II with women in combat roles. In telling the stories of three very different teen girls, author Michael Grant squarely confronts the vulgar truths of the times: Racism, profanity, sexual violence, and wartime horrors are presented bluntly and abundantly, and the result is an immersive, empathetic reading experience. Privates and officers use coarse, offensive language (though Grant sometimes substitutes tweaked spellings, such as “fug” and “Nigra”). Female soldiers are still a new presence in the military, and they’re subjected to lewd comments and misogynistic treatment by their male colleagues and many officers. Aside from that, however, they experience the war just as the boys and men do: They’re inspired, vengeful, terrified, smart-alecky, regretful, and worried. This is the first book in a series.~ Common Sense Media