Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

This is my favorite book of 2016. Fans of John Green and Jandy Nelson NEED to read this! It begins with the death of Vic’s dad and ends with the murder of Mad’s uncle. In between is a beautiful story that made my heart melt. I’m a sucker for created families, especially when they are made up of such interesting and lovable characters! These kids really rise above their circumstances and shine! Below is the annotated cover and some of my favorite quotes from the book.

koa

memories simutaneous-extreme-opposites baz-understand chapters

Front Lines by Michael Grant

Front Lines is a gritty work of alternate history, imagining World War II with women in combat roles. In telling the stories of three very different teen girls, author Michael Grant squarely confronts the vulgar truths of the times: Racism, profanity, sexual violence, and wartime horrors are presented bluntly and abundantly, and the result is an immersive, empathetic reading experience. Privates and officers use coarse, offensive language (though Grant sometimes substitutes tweaked spellings, such as “fug” and “Nigra”). Female soldiers are still a new presence in the military, and they’re subjected to lewd comments and misogynistic treatment by their male colleagues and many officers. Aside from that, however, they experience the war just as the boys and men do: They’re inspired, vengeful, terrified, smart-alecky, regretful, and worried. This is the first book in a series.~ Common Sense Media

We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach

From the publisher:

Four high school seniors put their hopes, hearts, and humanity on the line as an asteroid hurtles toward in this contemporary novel.

They always say high school is the best time of your life.

Peter, the star basketball player at his school, is worried “they” might actually be right. Meanwhile Eliza can’t wait to escape Seattle—and her reputation—and perfect-on-paper Anita wonders if admission to Princeton is worth the price of abandoning her real dreams. Andy, for his part, doesn’t understand all the fuss about college and career – the future can wait.

Or can it? Because it turns out the future is hurtling through space with the potential to wipe out life on Earth. As these four seniors—along with the rest of the planet—wait to see what damage an asteroid will cause, they must abandon all thoughts of the future and decide how they’re going to spend what remains of the present.

From Ms. Hooper:

This hard hitting book contains mature content.

 

Not as Crazy as I Seem by George Harrar

notascrazy

Devon’s actions might seem a little crazy. He has to eat food in groups of four,(four peas, four M&Ms, sandwiches cut into four pieces) or he fears something terrible will happen. He won’t sit down in his psychiatrist’s office chair, because he can’t stop thinking about all the other bottoms that have sat there. A poster in his Science class is crooked, and he can’t stop thinking about wanting to straighten it. But Devon is not crazy; he has obsessive compulsive disorder.

This book is told in Devon’s quirky, lovable voice. Read it for an inside look at the life of an obsessive compulsive, as well as a good high school story.

Jude by Kate Morgenroth

Jude cover

This book grabs you right from the opening scene. Teenage Jude is sitting watching TV as the police work the crime scene of the murder of his father. They know Jude knows more than he is telling about the murder of his abusive, drug dealing father, but he refuses to cooperate with them. Why???

During their investigation they discover the identity of Jude’s mother, who his father told him left them when he was a baby. It turns out his heroin dealer wife abusing father kidnapped him from his mother when he was just three weeks old. Now Jude is living in the lap of luxury with his mother, who is a DA. Things are going great until one of Jude’s friends dies of a heroin overdose, and he is implicated. Things get even more complicated from here. Read the book to follow Jude’s trial and what happens next.

Nothing to Lose by Alex Flinn

Another blog site I used back then is shutting down, so I am moving my old reviews here.

nothingtolosecover1

This is a very good book which is told from the point of view of Michael, a former high school football star turned runaway. Michael’s mother married a much older, very successful lawyer who turned out to be abusive. Michael quits football to stay home and protect his mother, but his stepfather is too powerful for him. Unable to remain at home and watch his mother be beaten, Michael runs away with the carnival. Well, he is also encouraged by an older girl named Kirsten who works at the carnival and becomes his first love. Now Michael’s mother is in jail for murder, Kirsten has left the carnival for who knows where, and Michael has come back to Miami to try and help his mother. Will Michael be able to get his mother off the murder rap? Will he find Kirsten? Why did she leave? And is there something Michael is not telling about the killing?